The Three Jewels


The central focus of inspiration and devotion for Buddhists is the Triple Gem (also known as the Three Treasures, the Three Refuges, and the Three Jewels):

Buddha (Enlightened One or Awakened One) — Shakyamuni Buddha.

Dharma (or Dhamma) — the Buddha's teachings. Dharmra as well refers to the eternal Truth which the teachings convey to us. Dharma is threefold:
the Dharma we study, the Dharma we practice, and the Dharma of realization.

Sangha — 'community' or 'assembly.' In Buddhism sangha is both the community of disciples (whether ordained or not) who have gained realization of any of the stages of awakening as well as the community of ordained disciples, bhikkhus (monks) and bhikkhunis (nuns). Today sangha is also used to refer to a broader community of practioners and students.

Taking refuge in the Triple Gem represents confirmation of one's belief in Buddhist principles and one's dedication to Buddhist practice.

The Three Jewels: Buddha, Dharma and Sangha

Refuge: An Introduction to the Buddha, Dhamma, & Sangha
Thanissaro Bhikkhu

Taking Refuge in the Triple Gem

The Triple Gem

Buddha Dhamma Sangha
Ven. Ajahn Sumedho

What Is The Triple Gem
Ajahn Lee Dhammadaro

Refuge in the Buddha
Bhikkhu Bodhi

The Meaning of Sangha
Ajahn Brahmavamso

The Practice of Sangha
Thich Nhat Hanh explains that sangha is more than a community, it’s a deep spiritual practice.

Chan's Trail Head: The Triple Refuge and The Percepts
Rev. Chuan Zhi Shakya